GROW Campaign

San Antonio Botanical Garden Successfully Closes GROW Capital Campaign

The San Antonio Botanical Garden recently announced the successful completion of its philanthropic capital campaign. The GROW Plants. People. Possibilities. capital campaign raised $39 million, making it the largest fundraising initiative in the Botanical Garden’s history.

The San Antonio Botanical Garden is extremely grateful to the donors of this campaign led by its dedicated chairs. The GROW Phase I capital campaign was chaired by Karen and Jim Greenwood, Honorary Chairs Claire Alexander and Bill Scanlan, and Community Chairs Kristen and Rick Casey. The GROW Phase II capital campaign was chaired by Jeff Rochelle and Honorary Chairs Karen and Jim Greenwood. These visionaries know how important the natural world is to health and happiness and understand the role that the Botanical Garden plays in fostering a lifelong appreciation of plants and nature.

Donations supported the expansion of the Botanical Garden by adding eight acres in 2017, bringing dramatic new opportunities for guests to discover the ever-increasing value of plants, water, and freshly grown food. Most recently in 2020, the Botanical Garden completed the construction of the Phase II campaign culminating in new transformational gardens and facilities, including a state-of-the-art event space, The Betty Kelso Center.

Major features of the project include:

Phase I

Phase II

“The generosity of our donors has enabled us to transform the gardens into a world-class destination in the heart of the city along the cultural corridor,” said Sabina Carr, Chief Executive Officer, San Antonio Botanical Garden. “We watch with joy as we activate these new garden amenities from Storytime in the Garden on the lush Greehey Lawn to hosting a wedding in the architecturally stunning The Betty Kelso Center. Delivering on our mission has never been more exciting and rewarding.”

Phase I Committee:

Jim and Karen Greenwood, Chairs

Claire Liedtke Alexander, Honorary Chair

Bill Scanlan, Honorary Chair

Rick and Kristen Casey, Community Campaign Chairs

Susie Martin, Board Campaign Co-Chair

Nancy Zachry, Board Campaign Co-Chair

Jeff Rochelle

Pete Selig

Bob Brackman, Executive Director, Retired

Candace Andrews, Director of Community Relations and Visitor Services (Ret.)

Design Team

Christy Ten Eyck, Ten Eyck Landscape Design

Cameron Campbell, Ten Eyck Landscape Design

Phil Weddle, Weddle Gilmore Architects

Cindy Tyler, Terra Design Studios

Robin Moore, North Carolina State University Natural Learning Initiative

Jeff Rochelle, Planning Committee Chair

Claire Liedtke Alexander

Karen Greenwood

Rob Holliday

Marline Carter Lawson

John Troy

Phase II Committee:

Jeff Rochelle, Chair

Jim and Karen Greenwood, Honorary Chairs

Professional Design Team

Phil Weddle, Weddle Gilmore Architects

Christy Ten Eyck, Ten Eyck Landscape Architects

Design Committee

Gabriel Durand-Hollis, Chair

Claire Liedtke Alexander

Bob Brackman

Karen Greenwood

Marline Carter Lawson

Dennis Quinn

Jeff Rochelle